IP Case

Mr. Huang as the attorney of Mr. Liu won the second trial of the trade secret infringement case

2022-10-21 views:110

  Recently, we received the Beijing Intellectual Property Court's (2022) J73mZhong No. 1195 civil judgment. In the case of a company in Beijing suing Mr. Liu for trade secret claims involving the customer list of 4.8 million yuan, after the first instance rejected all the claims of a company in Beijing, a company in Beijing refused to accept and filed an appeal. The second instance rejected the appeal and upheld the original judgment. Lawyer Huang Jibao participated in the proceedings of the first and second instance of the case on behalf of Mr. Liu.

  1、 Basic facts involved in the case


      In April 2016, Mr. Liu signed a labor contract with a company in Beijing for a period of one year. Mr. Liu was appointed as the lecturer of the company to teach stock related courses to shareholders of a platform. Both parties signed the Employment Cooperation Agreement, Lecturer Cooperation and Confidentiality Agreement, etc., stipulating that the lecturer shall not disclose the company's business model, course content, business performance and other trade secrets to any third party, do not recommend stocks, do not finance on behalf of customers, do not open any private contact information on any platform of Party A, and do not ask for or keep any customer contact information privately.

      In May 2017, Mr. Liu terminated the labor contract with a company in Beijing and asked Mr. Liu to return his QQ account and password, which Mr. Liu refused. The company filed a lawsuit to Beijing Shijingshan Court, requesting that Mr. Liu be ordered to compensate the economic loss of 4.8 million yuan.

      In order to prove Mr. Liu's infringement, the company submitted evidence such as the list of its own customers and the list of trainees in the second phase of training submitted by Mr. Liu in the labor dispute case between the two parties. It believed that the list of its own customers was the information in the company's customer database, which Mr. Liu himself could not obtain, but submitted in the labor dispute case, indicating that he had stolen the information in the company's customer database; As for the list of phase II students, the company believes that Liu Renyuan prepared it himself, including customer ID, name, telephone number, amount, filing time, filing person, time of course purchase, etc.

  2、 Opinion of the court of second instance


      The court of second instance held that the focus of the dispute in this case was whether the information claimed by a company in Beijing met the legal requirements for trade secrets. Trade secret has three legal requirements: not known to the public, having commercial value, and the obligee taking corresponding confidentiality measures. A Beijing company should bear the burden of proof that the trade secret it claims meets the legal requirements.

      About not being known by the public. Although a company in Beijing claimed that the QQ number involved in the case contained its company's business information such as creativity, management, sales, finance and customer information, which was confidential, it did not provide relevant evidence to prove it.

      The obligee shall take corresponding confidentiality measures. A company in Beijing claimed that it and Mr. Liu had implemented confidentiality measures through prohibitive provisions in a series of agreements. After investigation, the confidentiality agreement involved in the case did not specify the scope and specific content of business secrets, and other agreements did not contain the specific content of business secrets claimed.

  3、 Comment on Lawyers Handling Cases

      Article 9, paragraph 4 of the Anti Unfair Competition Law stipulates that "the trade secret referred to the technical information, business information and other business information that are not known to the public, have commercial value and have been taken corresponding confidentiality measures by the obligee".

      Article 5, paragraph 2 of the Provisions of the Supreme People's Court on Several Issues Concerning the Application of Law in the Trial of Civil Cases of Infringement of Trade Secrets stipulates that "the people's court shall determine whether the obligee has taken corresponding confidentiality measures according to the nature of trade secrets and their carriers, the commercial value of trade secrets, the identifiability of confidentiality measures, the correspondence between confidentiality measures and trade secrets, and the obligee's willingness to keep secrets".

      According to the provisions of laws and judicial interpretations, the obligee shall provide evidence that the information it claims conforms to the legal requirements for business secrets when it files a case of infringement of business information trade secrets such as the customer list. In this case, a company in Beijing did not have the ability to provide evidence, so the information it claimed did not constitute a trade secret.

 (1) The company did not specify the specific content and carrier of the trade secret it claimed.

      The company advocates to protect the customer information database, but it is unable to take out a specific customer information database, nor to present a specific carrier. It is unable to specify the customer list information contained in the so-called customer information database, as well as the relevant management, sales, finance and other business information. The existence of the customer information database is the company's way of reasoning and imagination to prove its existence, which is absurd in itself. At the same time, Mr. Liu's QQ number has no relevant management, sales, financial and other business information, and the QQ number is not the carrier of the company's trade secrets. 

     (2) The information claimed by The company in Beijing is known to the public and has no commercial value.

      The customer statistical table contained in the customer information database and labor dispute evidence claimed by the company has no commercial value, does not contain in-depth information different from relevant public information consisting of transaction habits, intentions, content, etc., and does not constitute a customer list in the sense of anti unfair competition law.

 

  (3) The company  did not prove that it had taken confidentiality measures for the information it claimed.

       The company claimed that the company and Liu Renyuan implemented the confidentiality measures for the above information through the prohibitive provisions in a series of agreements and the supervision and management of Liu Renyuan's lectures, which obviously did not conform to the legal provisions. The company has not adopted the confidentiality measures explicitly stipulated by law, has not explicitly agreed or stipulated the confidentiality obligations of the personnel involved in secrets through agreements, rules and regulations, has not differentiated the management of confidential places and confidential carriers so that the relevant personnel can know the confidentiality obligations, and has not clearly specified what specific information is required to be protected from beginning to end, and can not prove that reasonable confidentiality measures have been adopted.

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

Add Suite 1001A,Shou Chuang Building,NO.6 Chaoyang menbei Ave.,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China

Tel:13911525319 01085282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2022 BEIJING ZHIHUAN LAW FIRM

139-1152-5319

知寰案例

知寰案例|黄律师代理刘先生与北京某公司商业秘密案件二审维持原判,生效判决进一步认同我方代理意见

2022-10-21 来源:北京知寰律师事务所 浏览:83

  近日,我所收到北京知识产权法院(2022)京73民终1195号民事判决书,在北京某公司起诉刘先生涉客户名单商业秘密索赔480万元案件中,一审驳回北京某公司全部诉讼请求后,北京某公司不服提起上诉,二审驳回上诉,维持原判。黄继保律师代理刘先生参与该案一审、二审诉讼程序。

  一、案涉基本事实

  2016年4月,刘先生与北京某公司签订劳动合同,期限一年,聘任刘先生为该公司讲师,为某平台股民讲授涉股课程。双方签署了《聘任合作协议》、《讲师合作与保密协议》等,约定讲师不得向任何第三方泄露公司方经营模式、课程内容、经营业绩等商业秘密,不推荐股票,不代客理财,不在甲方任何平台公开私人任何联系方式,不得索要和私存任何客户的联系方式。

  2017年5月,刘先生与北京某公司解除了劳动合同,并要求刘先生交回其QQ账号和密码,刘先生予以拒绝。该公司起诉至北京石景山法院,请求判令刘先生赔偿经济损失480万元。

  为证明刘先生存在侵权行为,该公司提交了刘先生在双方劳动争议案件中提交的自有客户名单、二期培训学员名单等证据,认为自有客户名单是公司客户数据库中的信息,刘先生本人无法获取,但却在劳动争议案件中予以提交,说明其已经盗取了公司客户数据库中的信息;关于二期学员名单,该公司认为是刘任远自己编制,包括客户ID、姓名、电话、金额、报备时间、报备人、购买课程时间等内容。

  二、二审法院观点

  二审法院认为,本案的争议焦点为北京某公司主张的信息是否符合商业秘密的法定构成要件。商业秘密具有不为公众所知悉、具有商业价值、权利人采取相应保密措施三个法定要件,北京某公司应当对其主张的商业秘密符合法定要件负举证责任。

  关于不为公众所知悉。北京某公司虽主张案涉QQ号中包含其公司创意、管理、销售、财务、客户信息等经营信息具有秘密性,但并未提供相关证据予以证明。

  关于权利人采取相应保密措施。北京某公司主张其与刘先生之间通过系列协议中的禁止性规定实施了保密措施,经查涉案保密协议中未明确商业秘密的保密范围及具体内容,其他协议中亦不存在所主张的经营秘密的具体内容。

  三、办案律师评析

  《反不正当竞争法》第9条第4款规定,“本法所称的商业秘密,是指不为公众所知悉、具有商业价值并经权利人采取相应保密措施的技术信息、经营信息等商业信息”。

  《最高人民法院关于审理侵犯商业秘密民事案件适用法律若干问题的规定》第5条第2款规定,“人民法院应当根据商业秘密及其载体的性质、商业秘密的商业价值、保密措施的可识别程度、保密措施与商业秘密的对应程度以及权利人的保密意愿等因素,认定权利人是否采取了相应保密措施”。

  根据法律及司法解释的规定,权利人提起侵犯客户名单等经营信息类商业秘密案件,应当应其所主张的信息符合商业秘密的法定要件举证。本案中,北京某公司没有举证能力,其主张的信息因此也不构成商业秘密。

  (一)北京某公司没有明确其主张的商业秘密的具体内容和载体

  该公司主张保护客户信息数据库,但无法拿出具体化的客户信息数据库,也没有具体的载体呈现,无法明确所谓的客户信息数据库中所包含的客户名单信息,以及有关管理、销售、财务等经营信息,客户信息数据库的存在,是该公司以推论、臆想的方式来证明其存在,本身是荒谬的。同时,刘先生QQ号上根本没有有关的管理、销售、财务等经营信息,且QQ号也不是承载该公司商业秘密的载体。

  (二)北京某公司所主张的信息是为公众所知悉的信息,没有商业价值。

  北京某公司主张的,包含在客户信息数据库以及劳动纠纷证据中体现的客户统计表,没有商业价值,没有包含交易习惯、意向、内容等构成的区别于相关公知信息的深度信息,不构成反不正当竞争法意义上的客户名单。

  (三)北京某公司没有证明对于其主张的信息采取了保密措施。

  北京某公司主张,公司与刘任远之间通过系列协议中的禁止性规定,以及对刘任远讲课进行监督管理,实施了对上述信息的保密措施,显然不符合法律的规定。该公司没有采用法律明确规定的保密措施,没有通过协议、规章制度明确约定或规定涉密人员应承担的保密义务,也没有对保密场所、保密载体进行区分管理使相关人员知晓保密义务,而且自始至终都没有明确要求保护的具体信息是什么,更无法证明已经采用了合理的保密措施。

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

留言咨询

北京市东城区朝阳门北大街6号首创大厦A座1001室

电话:13911525319、010-85282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2020 北京知寰律师事务所 网站备案号:京ICP备20007375号-1 技术支持:律品科技

139-1152-5319