IP Case

Mr. Huang won the first trial of "MDI" trademark civil case for Taiwan Fulong Company,

2021-08-12 views:1188

  Recently, in the case of trademark infringement dispute between Taiwan Fulong Advanced Technology Co., Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as Fulong Company) and Jiangyin Gaoyi Machinery Industry Co., Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as Gaoyi Company) represented by Lawyer Huang Jibao, Fulong Company has won the first trial and reached a settlement in the second trial at the sincere request of Gaoyi Company. Gaoyi Company paid compensation for infringement, and Fulong Company withdrew the lawsuit.
 

    1、 Case background and first instance


      Founded in Tainan, Taiwan, in 1978, Fulong focuses on the research, development and production of office furniture accessories, and has become one of the world's leading suppliers of air pressure rods. Fulong Company has registered a series of trademarks on products such as Class 7 air bar, including No. 3735040 "MDI" trademark. For many years, Fulong Company has always insisted on promoting the brand through various exhibitions and other ways. The trademark has accumulated high goodwill and is recognized by furniture suppliers and manufacturers. When Fulong Company investigated the domestic market, it was found that Gaoyi Company claimed that it had obtained the permission of Fulong Company, and the air bar produced by it was marked with "MDI" logo, which was the same as the products of Fulong Company, leading to confusion among consumers, damaging the goodwill of Fulong Company, and infringing the exclusive right to use the trademark of Fulong Company. Therefore, it sued Wuxi Intermediate People's Court.

      During the trial, the court, based on the evidence and opinions of both parties, decided to support most of the litigation claims of Fulong Company: Gaoyi Company stopped the infringement; Gaoyi Company has published the statement of eliminating the impact on the front page of its official website for 30 consecutive days since the effective date of the judgment (the content has been reviewed by the court); Compensation for economic losses of 300000 yuan and reasonable expenses of 51000 yuan.

 

 

      2、 A settlement was reached in the second instance


      At the beginning of 2021, Jiangsu Higher People's Court organized a court hearing of the second instance. After the court hearing, Gaoyi took the initiative to find lawyer Huang Jibao, the agent of Fulong Company, and explained that Gaoyi's marking of "MDI" logo was also a recognition of Fulong Company's products, and Gaoyi Company was also a Taiwan funded company. Both of them knew that the two sides still had cooperation in the processing of air bar parts, and promised that trademark infringement would not occur again, The cooperation between the two sides should continue. In view of the fact that Gaoyi Company has recognized its fault and is willing to pay the compensation supported by the judgment, and the cooperation between the two parties needs to be stable, lawyer Huang and the board of directors of Fulong Company, after discussion, agreed to negotiate a settlement plan between the two parties, and finally reached an agreement. Gaoyi took the initiative to pay the settlement money, and Fulong withdrew the lawsuit.

 

     3、 Postscript


      Fulong Company has cleaned up the domestic "MDI" counterfeit products through trademark protection, and its position in the domestic market has been further stabilized. In 2021, under the situation that the epidemic affects the economy, Fulong Company will still achieve a double increase in sales and profits, which will exceed the performance before the epidemic.

      Fulong Company and Gaoyi Company reached an agreement through reconciliation, which also reflects their sincerity. At present, the two parties still cooperate in the processing of spare parts of air bar to achieve a win-win situation.

      In this case, Fulong Company chose to settle the case under the circumstances of winning the first instance and maintaining no suspense in the second instance, which is the best choice for the interests of customers. Intellectual property lawyers not only need to protect the rights of the obligee through litigation, let the infringer pay the price and deter the infringement, but also consider the overall business needs and planning of customers to promote customer profits and trading opportunities.

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

Add Suite 1001A,Shou Chuang Building,NO.6 Chaoyang menbei Ave.,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China

Tel:13911525319 01085282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2022 BEIJING ZHIHUAN LAW FIRM

139-1152-5319

知寰案例

知寰案例|本所代理台湾福隆尖端公司“MDI”商标维权一审胜诉,二审选择与侵权人达成和解

2021-08-12 来源:知寰律师事务所 浏览:161

  近日,本所黄继保律师代理的台湾福隆尖端科技股份有限公司(简称福隆公司)与江阴市高奕机械工业有限公司(简称高奕公司)侵害商标权纠纷一案,在福隆公司一审已经胜诉的情况下,在高奕公司诚意要求下,在二审中达成和解,高奕公司支付了侵权赔偿款,福隆公司撤回了起诉。

 

一、案件背景及一审判项

 

福隆公司于1978年在台湾地区台南市成立,重点研发和生产办公室家具配件气压棒,目前已经成为世界上最主要的气压棒供应商之一。福隆公司在第7类气压棒等产品上注册了系列商标,其中包括第3735040号“MDI”商标。多年来,福隆公司一直坚持通过各类展会等方式对品牌进行推广宣传,该商标积累了较高的商誉,受到家具供应商和生产厂商的认同。福隆公司在国内市场进行调查时发现,高奕公司对外宣称其得到福隆公司的许可,生产的气压棒标注“MDI”标识,与福隆公司的产品相同,导致消费者混淆,毁坏了福隆公司的商誉,侵害了福隆公司的商标专用权,为此诉至于无锡市中级人民法院。

 

经过庭审环节,法院综合双方的举证及意见,判决支持了福隆公司大部分诉讼请求:高奕公司停止侵权;高奕公司在判决生效之日起在其官网首页显著位置连续30天登载消除影响声明(内容经法院审核);赔偿经济损失30万元及合理开支5.1万元。

 

二、二审中达成和解

 

2021年年初,江苏省高级人民法院组织二审庭审,庭后高奕公司主动找到福隆公司代理人黄继保律师,解释高奕公司标注“MDI”标识也是对福隆公司产品的认同,而高奕公司也是一家台资公司,与福隆公司董事都认识,双方目前仍在气压棒零配件加工方面存在合作,承诺不会再发生商标侵权行为,而双方的合作仍要持续。鉴于高奕公司已经认识到自己的过错,愿意支付判决支持的赔偿款,且双方合作关系还需要稳固,因此,黄律师与福隆公司董事会商议后,同意双方协商和解方案,并最终达成一致。高奕公司主动支付了和解款,福隆公司撤回了起诉。

 

三、办案后记

 

福隆公司通过商标维权,对国内的“MDI’假冒产品进行了清理,国内市场的地位得到进一步稳固,2021年在疫情影响经济的情况下,福隆公司仍然实现销售额、利润额双双上升,并超过了疫情前的业绩。

 

福隆公司与高奕公司通过和解达成一致,过程中也体现了各自的诚意,目前双方仍然在气压棒零配件加工等方面进行合作,实现双赢。

 

本案中,福隆公司在一审胜诉、二审维持无悬念的情形下选择和解,是为了客户利益作出的最佳选择。知识产权律师不但需要通过诉讼方式为权利人维权,让侵权人付出代价,震慑侵权行为,更要从客户的整体商业需求和规划来为客户考量,促进客户利润提高和交易机会提升。

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

留言咨询

北京市东城区朝阳门北大街6号首创大厦A座1001室

电话:13911525319、010-85282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2020 北京知寰律师事务所 网站备案号:京ICP备20007375号-1 技术支持:律品科技

139-1152-5319