IP Case

Perseverance to overcome difficulties at all levels -- A case of equity transfer dispute as an agent

2021-07-19 views:978

  On June 30, 2021, with the settlement payment of RMB 550000 in place, the equity transfer dispute between Bagel's Land Company Limited and Beijing xx Commerce and Trade Co., Ltd. has been fully fulfilled.

    The case was filed in March 2018 and completed on June 30, 2021. It took three years and three months for the party to receive the payment. Although it is a less complicated commercial case, the agency process is quite difficult due to the defects of the main body, the defects of the contract terms and the artificial obstacles set by the other party. However, lawyer Huang Jibao, the agent, with his skillful application of the law and his loyalty to the entrustment, persevered in the end, and the other party finally took the initiative to ask for settlement and payment, and the case finally got a good result.

  1、 Basic Case

  Baiji Times (Beijing) Co., Ltd. is a company that produces "bagel" food. The bagel food is a baked bread originated in Europe and the United States. Baiji once provided bagel bread to western delegations for the Beijing Olympic Games in 2008, and its excellent baking technology and unique flavor formula were unanimously praised.

      Baiji is a foreign-funded company, which is solely established by Bagel's Land Company Limited. Bagel's Land Company Limited is a Canadian company. The shareholders and legal representatives of Baiji Company and Bagel's Land Company Limited are both Canadian Chinese Ms. Luo.

      In 2016, Beijing xx Trading Company (hereinafter referred to as the Trading Company) transferred the shares of Baiji Company through two share transfer agreements. The first agreement transferred 51% of the shares of Baiji Company for 1530000  yuan, and the second agreement transferred 23% of the shares of Baiji Company for 600000 yuan. During the performance, the trading company only paid 500000 yuan for the first agreement and 250000 yuan for the second agreement, and will not pay any more.

      At the beginning of 2018, Bagel's Land Company Limited entrusted Huang Jibao, a lawyer from Zhihuan Law Firm, to defend its rights. After obtaining the entrusted agency formalities of Canadian notarization and certification, the lawsuit began in March 2018. According to the performance period, the first lawsuit was filed in December 2018, and Beijing No.4 Intermediate People's Court decided that the trading company should pay 500000 yuan of share transfer money and 50000 yuan of liquidated damages, which was upheld by Beijing High Court after the appeal of the trading company; In the second lawsuit, in December 2020, the commercial company was judged to have paid 880000 yuan of share transfer funds and 100000 yuan of liquidated damages.

      On December 30, 2020, the two parties reached an enforcement settlement. After reducing some amount based on the total amount of the two judgments, the trading company agreed to perform automatically. At present, the amount has been fully performed.

  2、 Obstacles in case handling

  The case has been handled for more than three years, and the other party has changed four groups of lawyers and vowed to "fight to the end". In the process, the agent went through various legal traps and artificial obstacles, steadily promoted, won the lawsuit, and the two sides reconciled during the implementation process to win real interests for the parties.

      (1) It has surmounted the obstacle of the wrong establishment of the subject of the equity transfer contract.

      The subject matter of the transfer in this case is the shares of Baiji Company, and the contract should be signed between Baiji Company's shareholder Baigou Company and the transferee's trading company as the main body, but the party concerned mistakenly wrote Baiji Company as the equity transferor. How can I transfer myself? At the time of filing, the manager repeatedly stated that it was due to clerical errors. From the purpose of the contract and the notarization and certification procedures issued by the company, it can be seen that the transferor should be the company, and persuaded the filing court to file the case; During the trial, the judge was guided to ask the other party whether the company was written as Baiji due to clerical errors, which was recognized by the other party and recorded in the transcript, and finally solved the problem.

      (2) It has surmounted the obstacle of the other party's counterclaim according to the rescission clause in the contract.

      According to Item 9 of Article 5 of the first contract, the trading company has the provisions that "Party A guarantees that the employee salary, social security, and labor contracts of Baiji Company as of December 30, 2016 are paid and signed in accordance with the requirements of the Labor Contract Law..." and Item 1 of Article 7 that "Party B has the right to terminate this agreement, recover the equity transfer payment, and claim damages...", Return the conversion funds and compensate for losses. The agent defends the counterclaim, believing that only some employees have not paid the social security, and the other party has started to operate Baiji since the signing of the equity transfer contract in September 2016, and has not exercised the right of rescission until the time of this lawsuit. The reason is that after the lawsuit by Baigou Company, it was filed to avoid the obligation to pay the share transfer funds, which has exceeded a reasonable period of time and violated the principle of good faith. The court accepted this view and rejected the counterclaim of the other party.

      (3) Overcome the obstacle of the other party to file another case in Chaoyang Court.

      This case has been under the jurisdiction of the Fourth Intermediate People's Court of Beijing because it involves foreign affairs. The trade company took advantage of the defects of the main body signed by both parties to write Baiji, and sued Baiji with the trade company. When the case was filed, Chaoyang Court reviewed it in the form of a Chaoyang court, and the case was filed because the main body of both parties was domestic capital. After receiving the notice from the Chaoyang Court, the agent submitted to the court the transcript of the court session held by both parties in the Fourth Central Court of Beijing, and clarified that the transferor should be the CUIGUO Company. Both parties have recognized that the trading company intends to conceal the facts, deceive the court, and delay the lawsuit to avoid legal liability. Chaoyang Court found out the facts and ruled to dismiss the lawsuit of the trading company.

  (4) It has been a "dissolved" obstacle in Canada to surmount the cuphook company.

      In Canada, because there is no regular annual inspection, the legal status of the company is "dissolved". Considering that the company has not gone through the liquidation process, but is conducting a lawsuit to collect the creditor's rights in China, the agent suggested that they translate the word "dissolved" into "revoked" rather than "cancelled". In the first instance, the court held that although the company was in a state of revocation, its business related to settlement was not affected and did not pay attention to this issue. In the second instance, the new lawyer of the trading company made a strong defense against this, and believed that the company did not have the qualification of litigation subject and could not file this lawsuit. The judge of second instance hesitated. In response to this problem, we contacted Ms. Luo in Canada in a timely manner, learned that the company could apply for recovery under the status of dissolved, applied for recovery procedures, and promptly replied the recovery results to the Beijing High Court of the second instance.

      (5) It has surmounted the obstacle that the trading company employs a Canadian notary to testify.

      In view of the qualification of the litigation subject of Jinguo Company, the trading company engaged Paul, a Canadian notary and sworn officer, to conduct a professional investigation, and reached the conclusion that "Bagel's Land Company Limited was cancelled according to Canadian laws, and the plaintiff was not a legal person or organization, so it did not have the legal qualification to file a lawsuit against the defendant", which was notarized and submitted to the court of second instance. In terms of form, content and nature, the company did not approve the notarial certificate, and the court did not accept the evidence.

 (6) It has surmounted the obstacles of malicious capital reduction, increase of shareholders and legal representatives of commercial companies to evade implementation.

      In order to avoid execution, the trading company started to reduce its capital during the second trial of the first case. The original legal representative and sole proprietorship shareholder, Mr. Yuan, was changed to the new legal representative, Mr. Li was added as a shareholder, and the registered capital was reduced from 5 million yuan to 100000 yuan. But Li may be a person who has no ability to perform and is not afraid of being classified as dishonest and high limit. Sure enough, after the implementation of the application, the trading company had no property and could only list the trading company as dishonest and limit the height of Mr. Li. The ultimate demand of CUICHOU for equity transfer funds has not been met.

      The agent noted that the trading company was a limited liability company solely invested by natural persons when signing the share transfer agreement, and Mr. Yuan was a sole shareholder. According to the spirit of Article 63 of the Company Law and Article 13 of the Provisions of the Supreme People's Court on Several Issues Concerning the Change and Addition of Parties in Civil Enforcement, "a sole proprietorship enterprise as the person to be enforced is unable to pay off the debts determined by the effective legal documents, and the people's court shall support the application of the executor for change and addition of its investor as the person to be enforced", although the trade company has been changed to an ordinary limited company, And the registered capital was changed from 5 million yuan before the change to 100000 yuan, but the signing and performance of the equity transfer agreement occurred before the change. The trading company should be responsible for the applicant in the legal state before the change. Therefore, if Mr. Yuan can not prove that the company's property is independent of personal property, he should be the subject of the case and bear joint and several liability for the company's debts.

      For this reason, the agent filed an objection to the execution in the execution procedure, and applied to add Mr. Yuan as the person to be executed, and jointly and severally liable with the trading company. Yuan did not believe that he would lose the lawsuit at the beginning, and luckily escaped responsibility during the execution, but he still could not escape the result of being the executor together with the trading company. The whole process also gave him a series of vivid legal education classes, which prompted him to think rationally. For his future and reputation, he had to entrust his attorney (the fourth group of lawyers) to settle with Huang, and finally reached an enforcement settlement agreement, After the withdrawal of the objection action, CUICHOU successfully got back the equity transfer funds.

 

  3、 Handling experience

      On December 30, 2020, in the hearing of the enforcement objection lawsuit, when the two parties reached an enforcement settlement agreement, Zhu Qiuling, the presiding judge of the Fourth Intermediate People's Court of Beijing, said to lawyer Huang, "It is a great honor for the client (referring to the Cuphook Company) to find a responsible attorney like you.". The judges' praise is the recognition and encouragement of our lawyers' agency work, leading us to do a better job in legal agency work and better practice lawyers' professional ethics in the future. This case can achieve the ultimate needs of customers, mainly as follows:

      (1) Identify "minefields" and "mine" carefully.

      Due to the lack of legal knowledge, the party concerned wrote the transfer subject, Baiji Company, as Baiji Company. If the other party can not let go of this defect, the contract may be invalid. In the court hearing, the agent explained that the purpose of the contract signed by the parties was to transfer and accept the shares of Baiji Company, and the main body should be Baiji Company rather than Baiji Company. He guided the court to ask the other party to confirm the fact that "both parties wrote Baiji Company because of clerical errors", paving the way for the smooth development of the lawsuit.

      The legal status of the company is "dissolved". The company is due to the absence of annual inspection. Therefore, at the stage of handling the notarization and certification procedures, the agent requires that the word be translated into "revocation" rather than "cancellation", avoiding the risk that the subject has been written off without the qualification of a litigation subject. Although in the subsequent litigation, the opposing lawyer had a strong fight against this, they were all safe.

      (2) File an objection to execution in due time according to the case.

      The trading company has maliciously reduced its capital, increased its shareholders, and changed its legal representative. Cuoguo Company has applied for enforcement. The trading company has no property under its name. The court enforcement department can only punish the company and its changed legal representative for breach of faith and high limit, but it has no effect. In this case, the agent timely noticed that when the two parties signed the equity transfer agreement, Mr. Yuan was the sole proprietorship shareholder and legal representative of the trading company. According to Article 63 of the Company Law, "if the shareholders of a one person limited liability company cannot prove that the company's property is independent of the shareholders' own property, they should bear joint and several liability for the company's debts", and filed a lawsuit against the execution of the objection, claiming that Mr. Yuan should bear joint and several liability for this debt, However, the demonstration procedure heard by the court has clearly been able to support the appeal, and Mr. Yuan finally had to comply and actively reach a settlement with the company.

      (3) Having identified the right protection path, we will not waver or turn back and stick to it.

      The share transfer agreement signed by both parties is the expression of real intention. The sole proprietorship nature of the trading company at the time of signing the contract also provides a path for raising objection to implementation. The acts of the trading company that does not perform the agreement, do not pay the share transfer funds, maliciously reduce capital, increase shareholders and change the legal representative violate the principle of honesty and credibility. Therefore, the legitimacy of the rights protection act also gives the agent confidence and confidence to adhere to. In handling the case, the agent opened the road in the mountains and built bridges in the rivers. In the face of the defense of the other party and man-made obstacles, he did not fear, did not retreat, and insisted on the end. Finally, the case achieved good agency results.


  Recently, the agent remitted the equity transfer funds in place to Ms. Luo who was far away in Canada. Soon, Ms. Luo's family, who was in a good mood, went to Calgary for a holiday. She also sent the agent a lot of beautiful sceneries of lakes and mountains and noted: "Thank you, Lawyer Huang.".

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

Add Suite 1001A,Shou Chuang Building,NO.6 Chaoyang menbei Ave.,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China

Tel:13911525319 01085282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2022 BEIJING ZHIHUAN LAW FIRM

139-1152-5319

知寰案例

知寰商事案例|层层冲关 百折不挠 ——记代理一起股权转让纠纷案的维权经历

2021-07-19 来源:北京知寰律师事务所 浏览:244

  2021年6月30日,随着55万人民币和解款支付到位,杯勾土地有限公司(Bagel’s Land Company Limited)与北京xx商贸有限公司之间股权转让纠纷案全部履行完毕。

  这个案件从2018年3月立案,到2021年6月30日履行结束,当事人拿到款项历时三年零三个月时间。虽是一件不太复杂的商事案件,但由于主体瑕疵、合同条款缺陷以及对方人为设置的障碍,代理过程颇为艰难。但代理人黄继保律师凭着对法律的娴熟运用、对委托的忠于职守,坚持到底,百折不挠,对方终于主动要求和解并支付款项,案件最终有了良好的结果。

  一、基本案情

  百吉时代(北京)有限公司是一家生产“杯勾(Bagel)”食品的公司(简称百吉公司),杯勾食品系发源于欧美的烘焙面包,百吉公司曾于2008年向北京奥运会的西方代表团提供过杯勾面包,过硬的烘焙工艺和独特的口味配方受到一致好评。

  百吉公司是一家外资公司,由杯勾土地有限公司(Bagel’s Land Company Limited,简称杯勾公司)独资设立。杯勾公司是一家加拿大公司,百吉公司和杯勾公司的股东和法定代表人都是加拿大籍华人罗女士。

  2016年,通过两份转股协议,北京xx商贸公司(简称商贸公司)受让了百吉公司的股份,其中第一份协议以153万元受让百吉公司51%的股权,第二份协议以60万元受让百吉公司23%的股权。履行中,商贸公司只支付了第一份协议的50万元,以及第二份协议25万元,就不再支付。

  2018年年初,杯勾公司委托知寰律师事务所黄继保律师代为维权。取得加拿大公证、认证的委托代理手续后,于2018年3月开始诉讼。按照履行时段,第一次诉讼于2018年12月,北京四中院判决商贸公司支付转股款50万元及违约金5万元,商贸公司上诉后北京高院二审予以维持;第二次诉讼于2020年12月判决商贸公司支付转股款88万元及违约金10万元。

  2020年12月30日,双方达到执行和解,在两次判决总数额基础上酌减部分金额后,商贸公司同意自动履行,目前已经该款项已经全部履行到位。

  二、案件办理过程中穿越的障碍

  该案办理历经三年多之久,对方换了四拨律师誓要“血战到底”。过程中代理人历经各类法律陷阱和人为障碍,稳步推进,赢了官司,执行过程中双方和解,为当事人赢得实实在在的利益。

  (一)越过了股权转让合同主体设立错误的障碍。

  该案转让的标的是百吉公司的股份,应该由百吉公司的股东杯勾公司与受让方商贸公司之间作为主体签订合同,但当事人却错误将百吉公司写成股权转让方。哪有自己转让自己的道理?立案时代理人反复阐明是由于笔误所致,从合同的目的、杯勾公司出具的公证认证手续,可以看出是转让方应为杯勾公司,说服立案庭予以立案;庭审中引导法官向对方询问,是否由于笔误将杯勾公司写成了百吉公司,对方予以认可并记入笔录,终于解决了此问题。

  (二)越过了对方依据合同中的解除条款提出反诉的障碍。

  商贸公司依据第一份合同第5条第9项,存在“甲方保证百吉公司截止2016年12月30日的员工薪资、社保、劳动合同均按照《劳动合同法》的要求缴纳并签订…”,以及第7条第1项“甲方违反第5条任一条款,乙方有权解除本协议,收回股权转让款,并要求损害赔偿…”之规定,提出反诉要求解除合同,返还转股款并赔偿损失。代理人对反诉进行抗辩,认为未缴纳社保的仅为部分员工,且对方自从2016年9月签订股权转让合同后,即开始经营百吉公司,直到本诉期间的并未行使解除权,究其原因是由于杯勾公司起诉后,想逃避支付转股款的义务才提起,已经超过合理期限,且有违诚实信用原则。法院采信了此观点,驳回了对方的反诉。

  (三)越过对方在朝阳法院另立案件起诉的障碍。

  本案由于涉外,已经由北京四中院管辖。商贸公司利用双方签约的主体写成百吉公司的缺陷,以商贸公司来起诉百吉公司,立案时朝阳法院形式审查,由于双方主体均为内资而予以立案。接到朝阳法院通知后,代理人向法院递交了双方已经在北京四中院开庭的笔录,并阐明转让方应为杯勾公司,双方都已认可,商贸公司此举欲隐瞒事实,欺骗法院,拖延诉讼达到逃避法律责任的目的。朝阳法院查明事实,裁定驳回了商贸公司的起诉。

  (四)越过了杯勾公司在加拿大已经是“dissolved”的障碍。

  杯勾公司在加拿大,由于没有定期年检,法律状态呈现是“dissolved”。考虑到该公司并没有走清算流程,而正在国内进行诉讼清收债权,代理人建议他们将dissolved翻译成“吊销”而非“注销”。一审中法院认为公司虽为吊销状态,进行与清收相关的业务是不受影响的,没有关注此问题。二审中,商贸公司新换律师对此进行了强有力的抗辩,认为杯勾公司已经没有诉讼主体资格,不能提起本诉讼。二审法官对此态度有些犹豫。针对此问题,我们及时联系在加拿大的罗女士,得知公司在dissolved状态下可以申请恢复,就申请了恢复程序,并将恢复结果及时回复二审北京高院。

  (五)越过了商贸公司聘请加拿大公证人作证的障碍。

  商贸公司针对杯勾公司的诉讼主体资格问题,专业聘请了加拿大公证人、宣誓官Paul进行了专业调查,并得出“杯勾土地有限公司(Bagel’s Land Company Limited)根据加拿大法律注销,原告不是法人或组织,因此没有法律赋予的资格对被告提起诉讼”的结论,并对此作了公证向二审法院提交。对此公证书,杯勾公司从形式、内容、性质上均不予认可,最终该证据法院没有采信该证据。

  (六)越过了商贸公司恶意减资、增加股东和法定代表人逃避执行的障碍。

  商贸公司为逃避执行,在第一件案件二审期间即着手减资,原法定代表人和独资股东袁某变更为新法定代表人栗某,增加栗某为股东,将注册资本金从500万元减至10万元。而栗某可能就是毫无履行能力、也不惧怕列为失信和限高的那类人。果然,杯勾公司申请执行后,商贸公司无任何财产,只能将商贸公司列入失信并对栗某进行限高。杯勾公司取得股权转让款的终极需求没有得到满足。

  代理人注意到,商贸公司签订转股协议时为自然人独资的有限责任公司,袁某为独资股东。根据公司法63条精神,以及《最高人民法院关于民事执行中变更、追加当事人若干问题的规定》第13条,“作为被执行人的个人独资企业,不能清偿生效法律文书确定的债务,申请执行人申请变更、追加其投资人为被执行人的,人民法院应予支持”规定,虽然商贸公司已经变更为普通有限公司,且注册资本从变更前的500万元变更为10万元,但股权转让协议的签订和履行都发生在变更前,商贸公司应以变更前的法律状态对申请人承担责任,因此袁某不能证明公司财产独立于个人财产时,应作为本案被执行人,对公司债务承担连带责任。

  为此,代理人在执行程序中提起了执行异议之诉,申请追加袁某为被执行人,与商贸公司一并承担连带责任。袁某从开始不相信自己会输官司,在执行时又侥幸能够逃避责任,但最终却依然逃避不了与商贸公司共同作为被执行人的结果,整个过程也给其上了一系列生动的法律教育课,促使其理性思考,为了自己的前途与声誉,不得不委托其代理律师(第四拨律师)与黄律师进行和解,最终达成执行和解协议,杯勾公司撤回了执行异议之诉后,顺利拿回了股权转让款。

  三、办理心得

  2020年12月30日,在执行异议之诉开庭,双方达成执行和解协议时,北京四中院承办法官朱秋菱说对黄律师说,“当事人(指杯勾公司)能找到你这样负责任的代理律师,真是三生有幸”。法官的褒扬是对我们律师代理工作的认可和鼓励,引领我们以后更尽责做好法律代理工作,更好践行律师执业道德。这个案件能够实现客户的终极需求,主要有以下几点:

  (一)识别“雷区”,谨慎“排雷”。

  当事人由于法律知识欠缺,将转让主体杯勾公司写成了百吉公司,这一缺陷如果让对方抓住不放,可能会导致合同无效。代理人在庭审中,阐述了当事人签订合同的目的是为了转让和受让百吉公司的股份,主体应是杯勾公司而不是百吉公司,引导法庭要求对方确认了“双方由于笔误将杯勾公司写成了百吉公司”这一事实,为诉讼的顺利开展铺平了道路。

  杯勾公司的法律状态是“dissolved”,该公司是由于没有年检而致,因此,在公证、认证手续的办理阶段,代理人要求将该词翻译成“吊销”而非“注销”,避免了该主体已经注销而无诉讼主体资格的风险。虽然在以后的诉讼中,对方代理律师对此进行了强有力的阻击,但都有惊无险。

  (二)根据案情适时提起执行异议之诉。

  商贸公司已经恶意减资、增加股东、变更法定代表人,杯勾公司申请强制执行,商贸公司名下无任何财产,法院执行部门只能对公司及变更后的法定代表人进行失信、限高处罚,但无效果。在此情况下,代理人及时注意到双方签订股权转让协议时,袁某为商贸公司独资股东和法定代表人,根据公司法63条的规定,“一人有限责任公司的股东不能证明公司财产独立于股东自己的财产的,应当对公司债务承担连带责任”,而提起执行异议之诉,诉请袁某对此债务承担连带责任,而法院审理的示明程序已明确能够支持该诉请,袁某最终不得不就范,主动与杯勾公司达成和解。

  (三)认准了的维权路径,不动摇,不回头,坚持到底。

  双方签订的转股协议是真实意思表示,商贸公司签约时的独资性质也为提起执行异议提供了路径,商贸公司不履行协议、不支付转股款、恶意减资、增加股东和变更法定代表人的行为有违诚实信用原则,因此,维权行为的正当性也给了代理人坚持的信心和底气。代理人在办理案件中,遇山开路,逢水架桥,面对对方的抗辩和人为设置的障碍,不畏惧,不退缩,坚持到底,案件最终取得了良好的代理效果。

  近日,代理人将到位的股权转让款汇给远在加拿大的罗女士。不久,心情不错的罗女士全家就去Calgary度假了,还发给代理人好多湖光山色的美景,并注明:“黄律师,感谢”。

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

留言咨询

北京市东城区朝阳门北大街6号首创大厦A座1001室

电话:13911525319、010-85282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2020 北京知寰律师事务所 网站备案号:京ICP备20007375号-1 技术支持:律品科技

139-1152-5319