IP Case

Mr. Huang won the first instance of the case of trade secret dispute

2022-01-24 views:835

  Recently, Zhihuan Law Firm received the (2021) Jing 0107 Min Chu No. 12239 Civil Judgment of Beijing Shijingshan District People's Court. In the case of the plaintiff Beijing company and the defendant Mr. Liu infringing on business secrets (trade secrets), Mr. Huang Jibao won the first instance on behalf of Mr. Liu, and the court rejected all the claims of a Beijing company.

  1、 Basic Case


      In April 2016, a company in Beijing signed a labor contract and an Employment Cooperation Agreement with Mr. Liu. Liu Shengxian's work content was to teach in the financial channel of a third-party live broadcast platform opened by a company in Beijing. Later, in May 2017, the two parties terminated the labor relationship.

      A company in Beijing claimed that Mr. Liu had infringed on his business secrets, and requested Mr. Liu to compensate for the economic loss of 4.8 million yuan, as well as litigation premiums, insurance premiums and other related expenses.

      The information that a company in Beijing claims to protect as business secrets includes two parts: first, Mr. Liu's QQ number involves the creativity, management, sales, finance, customer information, data and other information of a company in Beijing; The second is the customer list.  

      2、 The court adopted the defense opinions expressed by the agent on behalf of Mr. Liu and rejected all the plaintiff's claims


      After accepting the entrustment of Mr. Liu, Lawyer Zhi Huanhuang immediately organized the team to analyze the case and search for relevant cases. In combination with the actual situation of the case, Lawyer Huang mainly defended from the perspective of whether the information claimed by the plaintiff conforms to the "three characteristics" of trade secret protection, whether the plaintiff adduced evidence to prove that the defendant disclosed and used confidential information in violation of confidentiality obligations, and the plaintiff's losses.

      After hearing, the court rejected all the claims of the plaintiff, a company in Beijing. The judgment fully reflected the recognition and adoption of lawyer Huang's defense opinions. The court held that:

      First of all, the plaintiff, a company in Beijing, did not submit valid evidence to prove that the QQ number involved in the case contains the business information such as the company's creativity, management, sales, finance, customer information and data claimed by the plaintiff, nor did it provide evidence to prove that the QQ number is a special internal number for the work provided by the plaintiff for the defendant.

      Secondly, according to the relevant evidence submitted by a company in Beijing, the plaintiff can only prove that the customer list claimed by the plaintiff contains customer name, mobile phone contact information, ID, account and password, and the last three items are set by the plaintiff. After examination, they do not meet the constitutive requirements of trade secrets and should be excluded.

      Thirdly, the plaintiff, a company in Beijing, did not submit valid evidence to prove that the specific information of its company's customer database and the list of its own customers held by the defendant were the same as those of the plaintiff's company's customer database, and the plaintiff took appropriate and reasonable confidentiality measures for the customer information containing the customer's name and contact information. Although the plaintiff, a company in Beijing, claimed that its confidentiality measures were to sign a confidentiality agreement with the defendant and conduct corresponding supervision and management, the scope and specific content of trade secrets were not specified in the confidentiality agreement involved in the case, and a series of cooperation agreements signed between the plaintiff and the defendant did not contain the specific content of the business secrets that the plaintiff claimed in the case. Therefore, the plaintiff, a company in Beijing, could not prove that it had taken corresponding confidentiality measures against the claimed business information.

      Finally, the court also noted that the plaintiff did not submit any valid evidence to prove what unfair means the defendant used to obtain, disclose and use the "trade secrets" claimed by the plaintiff, so it did not support the plaintiff's claims.

  3、 Case evaluation


      Trade secret includes technical information and business information. Compared with technical information, business information, such as customer list, is difficult to grasp as the constituent condition of trade secret. In practice, the plaintiff needs to provide evidence to confirm the trade secret attributes of the customer list, namely confidentiality, confidentiality and value, otherwise it will bear adverse consequences In this case, the customer list that the plaintiff wants to protect has the attributes of non secrecy, confidentiality and other trade secrets, so the court of first instance rejected all of its claims.

      First, The confidentiality of the customer list requires that the customer list must be specific, even if the customer list can be distinguished from the list easily available through open channels. The public telephone number, list register, customer sign in form, etc. are directly extracted from the customer list, which is not confidential. The customer list formed only by reorganizing, screening and mining the public list based on investigation and understanding of customer needs will be secret due to its specificity. Therefore, the customer list cannot be simply understood as a list of customer names, but also includes comprehensive information such as customer demand types, demand habits, business rules, price affordability, and even the personality of business executives.

      Second,Confidentiality of customer lists. The Anti Unfair Competition Law stipulates that confidentiality refers to trade secrets "which are kept confidential by the obligee". Common confidentiality measures include: (1) rules and regulations, such as provisions on confidentiality obligations; (2) Confidentiality agreement; (3) Confidential material means, such as encryption, safe deposit box, etc; (4) Other confidentiality measures, such as confidential publicity and education, oral notification, etc. Of course, the Trade Secret Law does not require that the confidentiality measures be flawless. Excessive confidentiality requirements may hinder the use of trade secrets. Therefore, reasonable confidentiality measures can be taken to make the confidentiality obligor clear of his confidentiality obligations, so that competitors or others cannot obtain trade secrets through normal and legal means. However, in this case, in a series of cooperation agreements signed by the plaintiff and the defendant Mr. Liu, there was no specific content of the business secret information claimed by the plaintiff in this case, so his claims were rejected.

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

Add Suite 1001A,Shou Chuang Building,NO.6 Chaoyang menbei Ave.,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China

Tel:13911525319 01085282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2022 BEIJING ZHIHUAN LAW FIRM

139-1152-5319

知寰案例

本所黄律师代理商业秘密纠纷案件一审获胜

2022-01-24 来源:北京知寰律师事务所 浏览:529

  近日,知寰律师事务所收到北京市石景山区人民法院(2021)京0107民初12239号民事判决书,在原告北京某公司与被告刘先生侵害经营秘密(商业秘密)纠纷一案中,黄继保律师代理刘先生取得一审胜诉,法院驳回了北京某公司的全部诉讼请求。

  一、基本案情

  2016年4月,北京某公司与刘先生签订劳动合同和《聘任合作协议》,刘生先的工作内容是在北京某公司开通的第三方直播平台的财经频道中进行授课,此后在2017年5月,双方解除劳动关系。

  北京某公司主张刘先生侵犯了其商业秘密,请求刘先生赔偿经济损失480万元以及诉讼保费、保险费等相关费用。

  北京某公司主张作为经营秘密保护的信息包括两大部分:其一是刘先生QQ号中涉及北京某公司的创意、管理、销售、财务、客户信息、数据等信息;其二为客户名单。

  二、法院采纳了代理人代表刘先生表达的抗辩意见,驳回原告全部诉讼请求

  知寰黄律师接受刘先生委托后,第一时间组织团队人员分析案情,检索有关案例,结合本案实际情况,黄律师主要从原告主张的信息是否符合商业秘密保护的“三性”,原告是否举证证明被告违反保密义务披露、使用保密信息,以及原告的损失等角度进行了抗辩。

  法院经过审理后,判决驳回了原告北京某公司的全部诉讼请求,判决书中充分体现了对黄律师抗辩意见的认同和采纳。法院认为:

  首先,原告北京某公司并未提交有效证据证明涉案的QQ号中包含原告主张的公司创意、管理、销售、财务、客户信息、数据等经营信息,亦未举证证明该QQ号是原告为被告配备的工作专用内部号。

  其次,根据原告北京某公司提交的相关证据仅能证明原告所称的客户名单包含客户姓名、手机联系方式、ID、账户和密码等信息,而后三项均为原告设定,经审查并不符合商业秘密的构成要件,应予排除。

  再次,原告北京某公司未提交有效证据证明其公司客户数据库具体信息、被告持有的自有客户名单与原告公司客户数据库信息相同,且原告针对包含客户姓名和联系方式的客户信息,采取了相应合理的保密措施。原告北京某公司虽主张其采取的保密措施分别是与被告签署保密协议和进行相应的监督管理,但涉案保密协议中并未明确的商业秘密范围及具体内容,且原告与被告之间签订的一系列合作协议中亦不存在原告在本案中所主张的经营秘密的具体内容。因此,原告北京某公司无法证明其针对所主张的商业信息采取了相应的保密措施。

  最后,法庭也注意到,原告对于被告使用何种不正当手段,获取、披露、使用原告所主张的“商业秘密”,亦未提交有效证据加以证明,故对原告诉讼请求均不予支持。

  三、案件评析

  商业秘密包括技术信息和经营信息两部分,相对于技术信息而言,经营信息如客户名单作为商业秘密的构成条件较难把握,在实务中单纯以侵犯客户名单为由而提起的侵权诉讼中,原告需要举证确认客户名单的商业秘密属性,即秘密性、保密性、价值性,否则将承担不利后果.本案中,原告所要保护的客户名单具有不具有秘密性、保密性等商业秘密属性,因此一审法院驳回其全部诉讼请求。

  1、客户名单的秘密性,要求客户名单须特定化,即使客户名单能够从公开的渠道易于获得的名单区别开来。公开发行的电话号码、名单登记簿、客户签到表等直接直接摘抄形成的客户名单,不具有秘密性。只有以公开的名单为线索,进行调研并了解客户需求的基础上,重新整理、筛选、挖掘而形成的客户名单,则会因其特定化而具有了秘密性。因此,客户名单不能简单理解成客户名称的列举,还包括客户的需求类型、需求习惯、经营规律、价格承受能力,甚至业务主管人员的个性等全面的信息。

  2、客户名单的保密性。《反不正当竞争法》规定,保密性是指商业秘密“经权利人采取保密措施”。平时常见的保密措施有:(1)规章制度,如保密义务的规定等;(2)保密协议;(3)保密的物质手段,如加密、装保险柜等;(4)其他保密措施,如保密的宣传教育、口头告知等。当然,商业秘密法并不要求保密措施是天衣无缝的,过高的保密要求,可能会妨碍商业秘密的利用,因此具有合理的保密措施即可,使保密义务人清楚自己的保密义务,使竞争对手或其他人通过正常、合法手段无法获取商业秘密。但在本案中,原告与被告刘先生所签订的一系列合作协议中,并不存在原告在本案中所主张的经营秘密信息的具体内容,因此,其诉讼请求被全部驳回。

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

留言咨询

北京市东城区朝阳门北大街6号首创大厦A座1001室

电话:13911525319、010-85282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2020 北京知寰律师事务所 网站备案号:京ICP备20007375号-1 技术支持:律品科技

139-1152-5319