IP Case

Zhihuan won the arbitration case between Aipu Company and Jinshui Wanda company

2021-07-07 views:945
     Recently, Zhihuan Law Firm received the [2021] China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC) CJZZ No. 1387 award. In the dispute over the construction contract between the applicant Zhengzhou Jinshui Wanda Investment Co., Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as Jinshui Wanda) and the respondent Beijing Aipu Power Co., Ltd.

  Basic Case

  1、 Background of the case

      In April 2014, Jinshui Wanda signed the Temporary Power Supply Construction Contract for Zhengzhou Jinshui Wanda Center with Aipu Power, and Aipu Power undertook the construction of the temporary power supply project for Zhengzhou Jinshui Wanda Center. The project has been completed and put into use.

      Both parties failed to make normal settlement due to disputes arising from performance. According to the evaluation of the third-party price appraisal agency, the actual construction of the power supply and distribution project on site was 20231843.08 yuan, and the municipal compensation cost was 5691518.26 yuan. Due to various reasons, some of the external power supply and distribution projects were abandoned. Jinshui Wanda proposed to reduce the repeated investment of 2739853.13 yuan. Jinshui Wanda believes that the project settlement amount is 23183508.21 yuan. Jinshui Wanda has paid 24043545.83 yuan for the power project of Aipu, and 860037.62 yuan has been overpaid.

      In February 2017, Jinshui Wanda issued the Official Letter on Confirmation of Contract Settlement of Zhengzhou Jinshui Wanda Center Temporary Power Supply Project (Zheng Jinshui Wanzi [2017] No. 10, referred to as the Official Letter No. 10), which stated that "up to now, our company has paid you 24043545.83 yuan of the project price under this contract, and 860037.62 yuan has been overpaid. This overpayment will be deducted from the cable recovery price of Yangjunliu substation and the project funds of other cooperation projects between your company and Wanda".

  2、 Claimant

      During the performance of the contract, Jinshui Wanda urged for many times, but Epoch Power failed to submit the corresponding settlement materials. Jinshui Wanda entrusted a third party to evaluate the project involved, and the evaluation results were legal and valid.

      The power supply bureau of the external power distribution project from Yangjunliu to the switching post in the commercial area failed to accept the construction of Aipu Power in violation of the contract, resulting in a repeated investment of 2.7 million yuan, which should be reduced.

      Therefore, the project settlement amount is 23183508.21 yuan, Jinshui Wanda has paid 24043545.83 yuan, and the overpaid part of 860037.62 yuan should be returned.

 

  3、respondent

      According to the official letter No. 10, even if there is an overpayment, since Aipu Power has not raised any objection to the use of discarded cables for deduction, the overpayment has been handled, and Jinshui Wanda has no right to require the return of the overpayment.

      The abandoned engineering cables are 8819 meters of 3 x 400 cables. After consultation, about 9 kilograms of copper per meter of cable is worth about 4 million yuan at the market price of about 50 yuan per kilogram. This amount was recovered and sold by Jinshui Wanda, but not returned to Aipu Power.

      The five visas issued by Aipu Power in the process of construction totaled 322059.48 yuan, which should be included but not included in the settlement, and should be settled together. Aipu Power paid about 200000 yuan of temporary electricity deposit to the power supply company, which has been deducted from the project progress payment made by Jinshui Wanda to Aipu Power, and has not been returned to Aipu Power.

      Therefore, the Claimant's arbitration claim was not agreed.

  [Opinion of the arbitral tribunal and award]

  The arbitration tribunal held that the Construction Contract is valid and binding on both parties. The focus of dispute is described as follows:

      1. Whether there is overpayment for the project in this case.

      The arbitration tribunal found that it was not inappropriate for the applicant to entrust a third person to conduct cost assessment when EpPower did not provide corresponding evidence to prove that the final settlement price was incorrect. A total of 322059.48 yuan for the five visas claimed by Aipu Power can be separately settled with Jinshui Wanda and will not be handled in this case; The evidence of temporary power deposit claimed by Aipu Power is insufficient.

  According to the general practice of project construction material management, when the construction party provides materials for mobilization, the construction party and the supervisor will conduct on-site acceptance. There are strict on-site management measures for the mobilization and demobilization of materials, and the applicant's official letter No. 10 contains the meaning of cable recycling of Yangjunliu substation, which is recognized by the respondent. Therefore, the waste Yangjunliu substation cables will be taken over and controlled before recycling, disposal and realization, It is difficult to attribute the responsibility to the applicant or the respondent based on comprehensive consideration of the existing evidence in this case, so the arbitral tribunal determines that both parties have common responsibilities and obligations at its discretion.

  3. Whether the debts of both parties are offset due to Official Letter No. 10.
      The meaning of "deduction" in Official Letter No. 10 means that the applicant was the first to issue the letter and the respondent recognized it. This is a new deduction agreement between the two parties on the payment method of overpayment of project funds. Such meaning is true and does not violate the law, and can be recognized as agreement offset. Compared with Aipu Power, Aipu Power is the debtor of "the return price of abandoned cables" and "other project construction funds". Jinshui Wanda recognizes the existence of such debts and has certain advantageous position and obligation to confirm such debts. However, the specific amount of such debts has not been confirmed by practical and sufficient evidence in this case, leading to the arbitration tribunal being unable to confirm whether the offset has actually been completed in this case, However, this only involves the specific performance of the two parties to the agreement set off, which does not deny the true intention and validity of the agreement set off. Before both parties reached a new agreement to change the agreed offset determined in Official Letter No. 10, the arbitration tribunal held that it was against the principle of good faith for the applicant to claim directly to the respondent to return the overpaid project funds, so it did not support such claims of Jinshui Wanda in this case.

  4. Findings
      Reject the applicant's arbitration claim. This award is final and takes effect from the date of making it.

  [Case Evaluation]

  Although the object of action of this case is not large, the amount of evidence in the case is large, the duration of arbitration is long, and the time for making an award has been repeatedly postponed. It will take more than two years from the applicant's submission of an arbitration application on May 24, 2019 to the receipt of the award on June 9, 2021. During the process of representing the case, the agent communicated with the arbitration tribunal for many times, argued and grasped the following key points:

      1、 Sort out the evidence, study the evidence, sort out the facts and pulse of the case, and form defense ideas according to the evidence.
      After accepting the agency, gradually clarify the situation of the case according to the evidence and the statements of the relevant parties of Aipu Power. As a subordinate enterprise of Wanda Group, Zhengzhou Jinshui Wanda still cooperates with Aipu Power in other projects during arbitration. The repeated construction of some projects caused by Aipu Power in the construction process is due to some reasons, and has caused Aipu Power to operate at a loss in the project. In the face of the strong evidence of Jinshui Wanda, Aipu Power once wanted to settle with the other party, but Jinshui Wanda required that it must pay in full according to the arbitration request.
      The agent found that in the Official Letter on Confirmation of Contract Settlement of Zhengzhou Jinshui Wanda Center Temporary Power Supply Project (ZJSWZ (2017) No. 10) issued by Jinshui Wanda to Aipu Power, "this overpayment will be deducted from the cable recovery price of Yangjunliu substation and the project funds of other cooperation projects between your company and Wanda", Therefore, the defense idea of "overpayment has been handled through agreement, and Jinshui Wanda has no right to demand the return of Aipu Power" was formed.

      2、 Make a commitment in the trial to make Jinshui Wanda's intention of "deduction" in Official Letter No. 10 come into effect.
      No. 10 official letter was made unilaterally by Jinshui Wanda, which is an offer. The meaning of "deduction" in the text has not been agreed by Aipu Power in writing. Therefore, after consulting Aipu Power, the agent said in the court hearing that Aipu Power had no objection to the meaning of "deduction" in No. 10 official letter.

      3、 On the basis of the fact of Official Letter No. 10, an application for arbitration counterclaim was filed in due time, which aroused the attention of the arbitration tribunal and the balance of wrestling.
      In order to attract the attention of the arbitration tribunal to Official Letter No. 10, we put forward an application for arbitration counterclaim after the first court hearing on the basis of Official Letter No. 10 and the fact that there are indeed abandoned cables, requesting Jinshui Wanda to return the recovery amount of the abandoned cables. The provisional amount is 860037.62 yuan (consistent with the amount requested by the applicant). The reason is that Official Letter No. 10 indicates that Yang Junliu's cables have been recycled and sold by Jinshui Wanda, so they should be returned. In view of the cooperative relationship between the two parties, the applicant only claims to return 860037.62 yuan in this application, although the recovery price of discarded cables is more than 3 million yuan.
      At the same time, according to the Evidence Guidance of the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission, a specific disclosure request was made to require Jinshui Wanda to disclose the financial data of the recovery and sale of abandoned cables, because this data determines the amount that can be deducted from the abandoned cables or the amount that Jinshui Wanda should return to Aipu Power, which is relevant to this case.
      After starting the counterclaim procedure, Jinshui Wanda made a counterclaim defense and adduced evidence, and both parties reached a new balance between the request and counterclaim. At the same time, although the arbitral tribunal did not support the counterclaim finally, it restarted the counterclaim procedure, prompted the arbitral tribunal to re-examine the importance of Official Letter No. 10, and formed a free heart of "the overpayment of the project has been deducted by agreement, and the arbitration request for returning the overpayment of the project is against the principle of good faith", on which the arbitral tribunal made an award in this case.

      Evaluator: Lawyer Huang Jibao, acting lawyer of Aipu Power Company in this case.


 

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

Add Suite 1001A,Shou Chuang Building,NO.6 Chaoyang menbei Ave.,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China

Tel:13911525319 01085282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2022 BEIJING ZHIHUAN LAW FIRM

139-1152-5319

知寰案例

知寰商事案例|本所代理爱普电力与金水万达 建设工程施工合同仲裁案件取得完胜

2021-07-07 来源:北京知寰律师事务所 浏览:232
     近日,知寰律师事务所收到中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会[ 2021]中国贸仲京裁字第1387号裁决书,在申请人郑州金水万达投资有限公司(简称金水万达)与被申请人北京爱普电力股份有限公司(简称爱普电力)建设工程施工合同纠纷中,黄继保律师代理爱普电力取得完胜,仲裁委驳回了金水万达的仲裁请求。
 
【基本案情】
一、案件背景
2014年4月,金水万达与爱普电力签订《郑州金水万达中心临时供电施工合同》,由爱普电力承建郑州金水万达中心临时供电工程项目。该项目已经完工并投入使用。
双方履行中产生争议,未能进行正常结算。经过第三方价格鉴定机构评估,现场实际施工情况核算供配电工程20231843.08元,市政补偿费用5691518.26元,由于各种原因导致部分外线供配电工程废弃,金水万达主张核减重复投资2739853.13元。金水万达认为,工程结算金额为23183508.21元。金水万达已经支付爱普电力工程款24043545.83元,超付860037.62元。
2017年2月,金水万达发出《关于郑州金水万达中心临时供电工程合同结算确认的公函》(郑金水万字[2017]10号,简称10号公函),载明,“截止目前我司已经支付贵司本合同工程款24043545.83元,超付860037.62元,此超付部分款项在杨君柳变的电缆回收价款及其他贵司与万达合作项目的工程款中予以抵扣”。
 
二、申请人主张
在合同履约过程中, 金水万达多次催办,爱普电力始终未能呈报相应结算资料,金水万达委托第三方机构对涉案工程进行评估,评估结果具有合法有效性。
爱普电力未依约施工造成杨君柳至商业区开闭所的外线配电工程供电局不予验收,造成重复投资270万元,应予核减。
因此,工程结算金额23183508.21元,金水万达已经支付24043545.83元,超付的部分860037.62元应予以返还。
 
三、被申请人主张
根据10号公函,即使存在超付情形,由于爱普电力对用废弃电缆抵扣并未表示异议,因此对该超付事项已经作过处理,金水万达无权另行要求返还超付部分。
废弃工程电缆,共8819米3x400的电缆,经过咨询,每米电缆约9公斤铜,按照市场价每公斤50元左右,价值400万元左右。此款项由金水万达予以回收变卖,未返还给爱普电力。
爱普电力施工过程中办理的5份签证共322059.48元,在结算时应当计入而没有计入,应一并结算。爱普电力向供电公司支付了20万元左右的临时用电保证金,此款项在金水万达向爱普电力支付的工程进度款中已经扣除,也没有返还给爱普电力。
因此,不同意申请人的仲裁请求。
 
【仲裁庭观点及裁决结果】
 
仲裁庭认为,《施工合同》合同有效,对双方具有约束力。对争议焦点分述如下:
1、本案项目是否存在超付工程款。
仲裁庭认定,在爱普电力未提供相应证据证明最终结算价款有误的情况下,申请人委托第三人进行造价评估并无不妥。爱普电力主张的五份签证共322059.48元可与金水万达另行结算,不在本案中处理;爱普电力主张缴纳的临电保证金证据不足。
 
2、废弃电缆由谁接管和控制以及回收能否确定。
根据工程施工材料管理的一般惯例,施工方提供材料进场时就有建设方以及监理的进场验收,材料的进场出场有严格的现场管理措施,而申请人发出的10号公函中有关于杨君柳变电缆回收的意思表示且被申请人对此予以认可,据此,对废弃的杨君柳变电缆在回收处置变现前的接管和控制,从本案现有证据综合考量难以归责于申请人或被申请人一方,因此仲裁庭酌情认定双方负有共同的责任和义务。
 
3、双方债务是否因10号公函而发生抵销。
10号公函“抵扣”的意思表示是申请人率先发出且被申请人对此予以认可,这是双方对超付工程款的支付方式达成的新的抵扣合意,该等意思表示真实且不违反法律规定,可以认定为协议抵销。相对于爱普电力而言,爱普电力是“废弃电缆回价款”以及“其他项目工程款”的债务人,金水万达对该等债务的存在是认可的且对该等债务的确认具有一定的优势地位和义务,只是该等债务的具体数额在本案中尚无切实充分的证据予以确认,导致仲裁庭在本案中无法确认抵销的行为是否已经实际完成,但这只涉及到双方对协议抵销的具体履行问题,并不能因此否认双方协议抵销的真实意思表示及合法有效性。在双方未达成新的合意对10号公函确定的协议抵销进行变更前,仲裁庭认为申请人直接向被申请人主张返还超付工程款有违诚实信用原则,故对金水万达在本案中的该等主张不予支持。
 
4、裁决结果
驳回申请人的仲裁请求。本裁决为终局裁决,自作出之日起生效。
 
【案件评析】
 
本案诉讼标的虽然不大,但是案件证据量大,仲裁持续时间长,作出裁决的时间一再延期,从2019年5月24日申请人提交仲裁申请,到2021年6月9日收到裁决书,历时超过两年之久。代理人代理本案过程中,与仲裁庭多次沟通,据理力争,把握了以下几个关键点:
 
一、梳理证据,研读证据,理清案件事实和脉落,根据证据形成抗辩思路。
接受代理后,根据证据和爱普电力相关当事人的陈述,逐渐理清案件脉落。郑州金水万达作为万达集团的下级企业,仲裁时在其他项目与爱普电力仍然存在合作。爱普电力在施工过程中造成部分工程重复施工确属事出有因,且已造成爱普电力在该项目亏损运营。面对金水万达公司的强势证据,爱普电力一度想与对方和解,但金水万达要求必须按仲裁请求全额支付。
代理人发现金水万达向爱普电力发出的郑金水万字(2017)10号《关于郑州金水万达中心临时供电工程合同结算确认的公函》中,有“此超付部分款项在杨君柳变的电缆回收价款及其他贵司与万达合作项目的工程款中予以抵扣”的内容,据此形成“超付工程款已经协议处理,金水万达无权要求爱普电力”返还的抗辩思路。
 
二、在庭审中作出承诺,使金水万达在10号公函中“抵扣”的意思表示生效。
10号公函系由金水万达公司单方作出,系要约行为,其文中“抵扣”的意思表示并未经过爱普电力书面回复同意履行,因此,在征询爱普电力公司的意见后,代理人在庭审中表示,对10号公函要求“抵扣”的意思表示,爱普电力并没有异议。
 
三、以10号公函为事实基础,适时提出仲裁反请求申请书,引起仲裁庭的重视和角力上的平衡。
为引起仲裁庭对10号公函的重视,我们以10号公函、确实存在废弃电缆作为事实基础,在第一次庭审后提出了仲裁反请求申请书,请求金水万达返还废弃电缆回收款,暂定数额860037.62元(与申请人请求数额一致),理由在于,10号公函表明杨君柳变的电缆已经为金水万达回收、变卖,因此应予返还。鉴于双方的合作关系,虽然废弃电缆回收价款为300余万元,但申请人在本申请中仅主张返还860037.62元。
 
同时,根据《中国国际经济贸易仲裁委员会证据指引》提出特定披露请求书,要求金水万达披露废弃电缆回收、变卖的财务数据,因为此数据决定到废弃电缆能够抵扣的数额或金水万达向爱普电力应当返还的数额,与本案具有关联性。
 
启动反请求程序后,金水万达进行了反请求答辩和举证,双方在请求与反请求中达到一种新的平衡。同时,虽然仲裁庭最终并没有支持反请求,但重新启动反请求程序,促使仲裁庭重新审视10号公函的重要性,并形成“超付工程款已经予以协议抵扣、仲裁请求返还超付工程款有违诚实信用原则”的自由心证,据此作出本案的裁决书。

评析人:黄继保律师,本案爱普电力公司代理律师。
 
 

免责声明:本网部分文章和信息来源于互联网,转载出于传递更多信息和学习之目的。如转载稿涉及版权等问题,请立即联系我们,我们会予以更改或删除相关文章,保证您的权利。

留言咨询

北京市东城区朝阳门北大街6号首创大厦A座1001室

电话:13911525319、010-85282528

E-mail:info@zhihuanlaw.com

Copyright 2020 北京知寰律师事务所 网站备案号:京ICP备20007375号-1 技术支持:律品科技

139-1152-5319